Childish Nonsense

Exploring Children's Literature

Children’s Book Week

on May 16, 2014

CBW_Poster-smallGo ahead. You can say it. It is that time again? Very funny. But the only time I stop talking about children’s literature is when I’m reading children’s literature or making a valiant attempt to write some myself. So there! Pffft! (Hope I spelled that correctly.)

Children’s Book Week was May 12 to 18 this year. Something is going on in every single state and the District of Columbia to celebrate children’s books. If it’s not too late, maybe you can join in. There is a good list of official events at http://www.bookweekonline.com/.  This event was established in 1919! So, if I’m too late, there’s always next year.

In my neighborhood (literally, in my neighborhood. I could walk there if I weren’t so lazy.), is the fifth annual Gaithersburg Book Festival (http://gaithersburgbookfestival.org/). I’m shocked this has become such a big event. Workshops, book signings, and general good times. All celebrating quality literature. Can’t beat it. And it looks like the weather may even cooperate.

That’s about it for this post. Unless you want to hear about some of my pet peeves. They’ve been especially peevish this week.

 

Leave a Reply

