Childish Nonsense

Exploring Children's Literature

Busy-ness

on February 8, 2014

Gearing up for two big events here.

The NYC SCBWI conference starts in two weeks. Two weeks! Yikes!SCBWI conf

First, I would like this winter weather to come to a screeching halt. I won’t be responsible for my actions otherwise. When I was in my 20s I took the attitude of “no one is going to tell me I can’t go somewhere.” In other words, if the weather was bad, I was more likely to try to go out. This was not total recklessness, just a sort of claustrophobia and definitely self-determination. Now, I see a flake and I go into hibernation. Not sure which me will emerge if the weather is bad when I want to go to NYC. I have a feeling I will revert to my 20s self.

Second, I am SO excited for some of the sessions. I like to get myself revved up for these events by reading something by all the keynoters. I’m happy to report I’m having a ball. What a great group of authors. My favorites so far are the wonderful characters created by Sharon M. Draper, but I also love Elizabeth Wein, Kate Messner, and Jack Gantos. Who wouldn’t?

Third, I’m going to NYC! There are two great children’s literature related exhibits within walking distance of the Grand Hyatt, where the conference is being held. The New York Public Library (yes, the one with the lions out front) is showing The ABC of It: Why Children’s Books Matter: http://www.nypl.org/events/exhibitions/abc-it. Meanwhile, the Morgan Library has The Little Prince: A New York Story: http://www.mediabistro.com/galleycat/morgan-library-to-open-the-little-prince-a-new-york-story-exhibit_b81522. Just hope I get to see one of them. So much fun, so little time. Then there’s some of the best shopping and eating in the world. Oh, my!

A month later, my region, Maryland/Delaware/West Virginia, is holding our annual spring conference. Sue Peters and I are doing a great job dividing the duties but we can’t divide the worry. Registration has been a little rocky with our new website: http://mddewv.scbwi.org, but we think we have it under control now. BTW, the SCBWI team in Los Angeles has worked many long and frustrated hours on making the website work for everyone. It hasn’t been easy. A great big thank you to Sally Crock, Josh Smith, and Chelsea Confalone. Travel arrangements and AV needs are in process, and we’re still tweaking the program for the regional conference.

So, I’ve been a little busy with prep. And I love it.

Leave a Reply

