Childish Nonsense

Exploring Children's Literature

Getting Down to Business

on January 4, 2014

HappyNewYearWhere to start? Where to start?

As “they” say, it’s always best to start at the beginning.  And so, what the heck IS the beginning, considering I’m in the middle of a hundred different things?

I think “It was a dark and stormy night” is out.

So is “It was the best of times. It was the worst of times.”

Even “Where’s Papa going with that axe?” is taken. Drat!

So, following the advice of several experts, including the incomparable Katie Davis(katiedavis.com), I decided first to take stock of my writer-related accomplishments of 2013. Hey, even I am impressed after writing it all down. No wonder I’m tired. (And this doesn’t even take into account that I had a bout of shingles in August.

  • In January, I began a major revision to my middle grade novel, my baby that I’ve been working on for years. I’m happy to say the first pass through is completely finished and now I’m adding scenes and polishing.
  • In March, Sue Peters and I took over as co-regional advisors for Maryland/Delaware/West Virginia SCBWI. I feel like I’ll find my sea legs by the time our term is up. It’s a big job. I did get the privilege of conducting a meet and greet in West Virginia. What a wonderful, talented group of people. Part of that was a sneak peek at Sarah Sullivan’s amazing debut novel, All That’s Missing.
  • In August, Sue Peters and I attended and worked at the LA conference of the SCBWI. If you ever get the chance to attend, do it! This community will blow you socks off. Support up the wazoo. So much information I can’t possibly absorb it all.
  • Also in August (Can you tell August was a big month?), I purchased a suite of book review websites, gradereading.net. Also still finding my sea legs on this.
  • In November, I participated in Picture Book Idea Month and came away with well more than 30 good ideas. And they’re still generating. Four of them are now rough manuscripts.
  • I read and reviewed 87 books, according to Goodreads.
  • I also continue work on a middle grade nonfiction book. I find having more than one project often keeps me from getting bored and lets some projects simmer when I get stuck.

So, what does all this mean?

  1. I can accomplish a lot if I keep myself organized.
  2. I’m learning a lot and always improving my skills.
  3. Goals, plans, and keeping organized are very, very important.
  4. 2014 is gonna be great!
2 responses to “Getting Down to Business

  1. Juliana Lee says:

    I never thought to use Goodreads as a record keeper. Do you record your children’s books or just adult books?

Leave a Reply

