Childish Nonsense

Exploring Children's Literature

Wish List

on December 20, 2013

Cartoon SantaPlease, Santa, whether you be black, white, gay, straight, or made of fairy dust, bring me the following:

1)      Kindness: I feel a little like a Miss America contestant in listing what I want. What I really want is world peace, but since that is elusive, I’ll settle for a little kindness. A few random acts of kindness would do. I find it very sad that the news reports on random gestures get so much attention, because that means that, on some level, they are rare events. And I recognize that I’m as guilty as the next person. I read something on Facebook that really sets me off and forget to note the author is a human being and probably has supporters. I do my best to remain positive and kind on social media, but it’s so damn hard. So I guess my first wish is to receive kindness for kindness.

2)      Excellence: Or at least refusal to settle for mediocrity. I’d like to go an entire week without seeing “its” misused in an article by an educational institution. I’d like for people to understand that Common Core is a step in the right direction – an attempt to set standards for raising our children to new heights – NOT a communist to plot to test them to death. I’d like to see less of 50 Shades and more of 5000 Awesome Facts. And I’d like the excellence to rub off on me.

3)      Forgiveness: At the same time I’m seeking excellence, I recognize we are all human. And if we can’t laugh at ourselves, what can we laugh at? And remember that the boobs who really mess up are likely to get bit in the butt anyway. Most of us pay for our mistakes – eventually.

4)      Humor: See “forgiveness.” First, laugh at yourself.

5)      Compassion: Had to say it. I try to keep politics out of this blog, but in a world where our so-called leaders, millionaires who owe all their wealth to careers in Congress, suggest school children be issued brooms, I just have to shake my head.

6)     Selfawareness: I hope I can remember my own humanity and that these are all things I need to work on.

 

2 responses to “Wish List

  1. Juliana Lee says:

    Merry Christmas Sue! Hope all your wishes come true!

Leave a Reply

