Childish Nonsense

Exploring Children's Literature

More about My Busy Life

on June 23, 2013

I’ve been reading The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler, who will be speaking at the Los Angeles conference. I’ll have a lot to say about that later.

I attended the Children’s Book Guild of Washington DC as a guest on June 13. The speaker, Wes Moore, is an amazing speaker and very inspiring. As a troubled youth, he was sent to a military school and was able to turn his life around. He met another man from the same area with the same name, who was not able to live a good life and is now in prison for life. Our speaker wrote a book for adults title The Other Wes Moore and has just completed a book called Discovering Wes Moore for young adults. I really need to get both of these books. I recommend them, even without reading them.

Summer is a busy time in our household. The trick is remembering to say “no” once in a while. Literally, we’ve had Saturdays where we could have done up to six different activities without even breaking a sweat. But, alas, I haven’t mastered the ability to be in more than one place at a time. And neither has my husband.

July, stretching into August, is turning out to be an every-moment-planned I just hope I can get some writing done. They say if you want something done, give it to a busy person. In my opinion, being busy forces a person to be organized and to set priorities.

Priority 1 – Taking care of my SCBWI region. Our two-day conference is in September, which means we have to get the registration up and running in July. I won’t bore you with all the details of this. Suffice it to say I’m off in several directions getting ready for this. Also, I arranged for a meet and greet in West Virginia on July 20. We love our West Virginia members. My cohort, Sue Peters, and I leave for Los Angeles on July 31 and don’t return until August 6.

Priority 2 – My family. My mother is now 84 years young and living 1000 miles away. We’re driving out to see her. Also my 98-year-old aunt, my brother, and my sisters-in-law.

Priority 3 – Baseball. Whether we’re winning or not.

Priority 4 – Friends. Picnics with my former office and neighbors.

A dental cleaning. Online critique group. Books to review. Then additional writing.

In between, I will be sleeping.

Leave a Reply

